When is “Enough” enough?

IMG_4557.JPG

It was during this class I had in English during my first year in college that I encountered this question from my professor. At first I was startled why she asked that question, and later I have come to realize the hidden meaning she had when she asked that. When is enough really enough?

Whenever I am about to finish my plate or any schoolwork for that matter, I would always tell myself, “Pwede na to! Okay na.” (Translation: This is enough already. This is okay.) And so, whenever I come to school and check on the works of my classmates and compare it with mine, I would always say to myself, “I could have done better”. This is when I realize that my enough is never enough. This is when I realize that I have been like this all my life because I want everything easy and fast. Maybe this is because I have always been the kind of person who would understand things instantly and so I don’t need too much hardwork to study or to make things. And this is when I realize that I’ve got to do something.

Everyday I wake up, I find it really hard to start my day’s work. I would often linger in bed more than enough. And I find it hard to change. Change is the one thing I cannot do – the one thing that I can’t even start. I don’t know where to start. Maybe I should start by waking up early to organize my day’s work. And keep focused. Really. Focused.

So let me borrow the line that one of my professor always use in class, ” It’s up to you.” It will always be up to you when enough will be enough. It is always our choice. It is our choice if we want to do great in class or if we want to sulk in the corner and be at the bottom of the class. It is our choice whether we start our work early, or we do it late. It will always be our choice to make. So yeah, maybe I can start with setting the standard of my enough in a much greater standard. Well, it’s up to me, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

